Walking the Walk (Doing It the Write Way)

2

January 25, 2014 by Woz

For months (more like years), I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect program or course that would “fix me” and transform me into the happy and whole person I so crave to be.

I’ve tried numerous writing programs, diet programs, yoga programs, soul-full business programs, juice programs, coaching programs, love your body programs, money programs, fitness programs, organize your home programs, simplicity programs, and even a program that boasted I could eat exquisite chocolates and drink fine wine while losing weight.

Each course held such promise when I’d receive my new materials and pour over them thinking about about how my life was going to be redesigned and realigned in 30, 60, or 90 days. I’d start with such gusto and excitement, only to fizzle out quicker than I’d dare admit. The shine a program initially held lost its luster after I soon realized it wasn’t a magic pill for what I was trying to give a quick fix.

It’s taken me a long time (and a lot of money) to realize that there probably isn’t a guide out there to assist me in my search of being a “perfect” person. All the while, I’d continue to write out my angst and hit the pavement with my pedometer and feel a little bit of relief.

Last night while I was surfing the ‘net for sparkly new programs in celebration of the New Year (my search was “live my best life programs”), I was frustrated to learn it seems I’ve combed the World Wide Web to the end and back simply recycling courses that I’ve already taken or otherwise decided weren’t for me.

Sigh.

Doing one of the only things I knew could help me, I began to journal about my conundrum. I feistily scribbled about how I was sick and tired of dealing with depression, searching for my life’s purpose, and still carrying around pounds of baby weight nearly three years after my son came into this world.

Was anyone or anything ever going to help save me?

I’ve come to the conclusion that I can keep signing up for program after program or I can take matters into my own hands.

So I’m going to perform a little experiment and invite you to come along with me. I’ve discovered over these past few months (and years), that the only things beside my family’s love and support that has kept me afloat has been taking things literally step by step and (key or pen) stroke my stroke.

It might sound ridiculously simple, but I’m going to see if what I’ve been craving has been within me all along. A (relatively) free program of getting my walk and write on to feed my soul the only way it seems to get full.

I’m not entirely sure what this journey will entail but it will involve a simple pair of walking shoes, a FitBit, a MacBook Air and a stack of Moleskins. My fingers and toes are ready to do some serious work and see if my depression can be managed, my belly can shed some inches, and if I can gain some clarity about my place in this world. (Nothing like a small order, eh?)

Starting today I’m going to attempt to walk and write my way to a life I love. It feels like a bit of a long shot but after all the other things I’ve tried, I’d say this deserves a fair shake don’t you think?

So I raise a glass of water to you as I strap on my sneakers and sharpen my pencil. Who knows what I’ll uncover on this path.

I plan to share my travels and discoveries, my tips and dips. Care to turn a page in your own notebook and join me? Everything is better with a friend.

It’s time to walk the walk and write on. Ready, set, let’s stroll.

wozwalk

2 thoughts on “Walking the Walk (Doing It the Write Way)

  1. Lianne Scott says:

    Woz, I think I need to join you. Since moving more than half way across the country I’m feeling out of sorts/place/wine 🙂 Maybe strapping on my running shoes (along with my ice cleats — not kidding) and picking up my own Moleskins might just be what I need. Can you share what your plans are — how often, how far (for both the walking and writing)?

    • Woz says:

      Hi Lianne! That’s all still up for review at this point but so far I’m walking 1.5 miles and doing some freewriting. I don’t want to lock myself into a word count just yet. And yes, you should definitely join me! 😀

Leave a Reply

