Thank Goodness for Getting High

Leave a comment

January 28, 2014 by Woz

Maybe this sounds familiar to you…

Your walking shoes are on, the wind is whipping in your face, your cheeks are quickly becoming a rosy shade of pink and all you want to do is turn around and go home.

That’s all I wanted to do for the first half of my lunchtime walk today — go home. I kept muttering under my breath “Please be over soon, please be over soon.”

And then it started to kick in…the high.

high_availability_in_cloud

You know what I’m talking about, right? That feeling of being Rocky in a 70s movie montage where you begin to feel invincible. I turned the corner (literally and metaphorically) and was hitting my stride. I wanted this high to keep going so I decided to turn off the snoozer tunes I was listening to and really amped it up.

Next came Modest Mouse’s “Education” and I was really on fire. I put in on repeat and finished my walk with gusto.

While my lunchtime wasn’t quite over yet, I decided to dive back into work (much to the surprise of my boss…me) and banged out an article for a client that I’d been putting off all day. Just. Like. That.

This is what I’m talking about, my friends. Walking the write way. Not only did I get a mile and a half in (that’s saying something for this gal), but I got 500 words banged out in record time and really loved what I wrote.

Was it the walker’s high? The music? The sun finally warming up my nearly frozen cheeks? I may never be sure, but I am sure that the high is where it’s at.

Who wants to stroll one with me?

Leave a Reply

